Saturday, March 8, 2008

2008 Malaysia Election Result

Opposition party took over Kelantan, Penang , Kedah, Selangor , Perak and Federal Territory state.

Opposition has apparently denied the ruling Barisan Nasional its crucial two-thirds majority by winning up to 82 parliament seats (PKR - 31, DAP - 28, PAS - 23). To deny the government two-thirds majority, the opposition must win 75 seats. On the other hand, BN has won 140 seats. (Total 222)

DAP confirmed that its secretary general Lim Guan Eng will be the next Penang Chief Minister. He said that DAP would form the state government with PKR. “It will be a government for all Malaysians.

PKR secretary-general Khalid Ibrahim said they will meet with the Selangor Sultan "soon" regarding the formation of the new state government.However, he told that he did not wish to jump the gun when asked whether he would be the new mentri besar. The deputy mentri besar is likely to be DAP’s Teng Chang Khim, who is former state opposition leader.

Parliament Seat

Barisan Nasional - 140

PAS - 23

DAP - 28

PKR - 31

Bebas - 0

State Seat

Barisan Nasional - 304

PAS - 83

DAP - 73

PKR - 40

Bebas - 2

No comments: